ECC 2016: Katowice is still in the game

Today was announced a shortlist of Polish cities which compete for the title of the European Capital of Culture 2016. The pre-selection took place in the Grand Theatre – National Opera in Warsaw. Five cities were qualified for the second stage. The list includes Katowice.

  • The shortlist of the five qualified cities:
    – Gdańsk
    – Lublin
    – Warsaw
    – Wrocław

An especially appointed Selection Committee chosen the five cities from among 11 which submitted their application forms by the 30th of August 2010. These are: Białystok, Bydgoszcz, Gdańsk, Katowice, Lublin, Łódź, Poznań, Toruń, Szczecin, Warsaw and Wrocław.

The Selection Commitee members include experts nominated by various European institutions and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage. The following experts were participating: on behalf of the European Committee, Mr. Robert Scott (Great Britain) and Mr. Manfred Gaulhofer (Austria), from the European Parliament: Mr. Andreas Wiesand (Germany) and Ms. Danuta Glondys (Poland), on the EU Council’s behalf: Ms. Erna Hennicot-Schoepges (Luxemburg) and Mr. Constantin Chirac (Romania) and a representative of the Committee of the Regions, Ms. Elisabeth Vitouch (Austria).

In conformity with the decision of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of the 8th of October 2010, the following Polish experts were appointed to take part in the Selection Committee: Ms. Joanna Kiliszek, the Deputy Director in the Adam Mickiewicz Institute in Warsaw, Professor Tadeusz Kowalski, the Director of the National Film Archive, Mr. Michał Merczyński, the Director of the National Audiovisual Institute, Professor Jacek Purchla, the Director of the National Cultural Centre in Krakow, Dr. Monika Smoleń, the Under-secretary of State in the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage and Mr. Tadeusz Zielniewicz, the Director of the Royal Baths Museum in Warsaw.

At present, the five cities to be considered further will have approximately 9 months to complete their applications. Then, the Commitee will judge the candidates and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage choose the winning city in June/July 2011. Afterwards, the name of chosen city will be presented to European Institutions. The final decision about the winner of the European Capital of Culture 2016’s title will be made by the Commitee of the European Union in Q2 2012.

The chosen city will receive the Melina Mercouri Award of EUR 1,5 million from the European Union.