Two weeks left to EEC 2011

Four prime ministers from countries of the Visegrad Group (the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, also called the Visegrad Four or V4), two current and two former European Union commissioners, five Polish government ministries, almost twenty secretaries and undersecretaries of state, more than ten mayors of Polish cities and top managers from European corporations have all marked their calendars to attend the third European Economic Congress (EEC) between 16th and 18th of May.

The first day of the Congress will be opened by Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament. Following guests will deliver an inauguration speech – Donald Tusk, Prime Minister of Poland, Petr Nečas, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic, Viktor Orbán, Prime Minister of Hungary, Iveta Radičová, Prime Minister of Slovakia and Lech Wałęsa, Poland’s president 1990-1995.

The European Commission will be represented by Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission, European Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship and Janusz Lewandowski, EU commissioner for financial programming and budget. Also, among the guests are Günter Verheugen, EU Commissioner for Enterprise and Industry 1999-2004, EU Enlargement Commissioner 2004-2010 and Peter Mandelson, EU Trade Commissioner 2004-2008, Great Britain’s Secretary of State for Business, Enterprise & Regulatory Reform in the Labour Government 2009-2010.

Polish politicians on the guest list include Elżbieta Bieńkowska, Minister of Regional Development; Michał Boni, Prime Minister Donald Tusk’s Chief Strategic Adviser; Aleksander Grad, Minister of the Treasury; Andrzej Kraszewski, Minister of the Environment; Waldemar Pawlak, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of the Economy; Olgierd Dziekoński, Secretary of State in the President’s Office.

  • Lately, participation in the third European Economic Congress was confirmed by:
    – Harry van Dorenmalen, Chairman of IBM Europe
    – Edward Godber, Vice President and Head Access to Medicines Centre of Excellence, GlaxoSmithKline
    – Marco Graziano, Senior Vice President, Business, Development, International & Marketing, AREVA
    – Toru Hashimoto, Chairman, Mitsubishi Motor R&D Europe
    – Aleksandre Khetaguri, Ministry of Power Engineering of Georgia
    – Marian Krzaklewski, European Economic and Social Committee
    – Michał Kulesza, Advisor of Poland’s President;
    – Tamuna Liluashvili, Head of Invest In Georgia National Investment Agency
    – Alasdair Nicolson, General Manager, Shell Business Service Centre
    – Józef Oleksy, Prime Minister of Poland 1995-1996
    – Witold Orłowski, Chief Economic Advisor, PwC
    – Susanne Reichenbach, Head of Treasury, Berlin
    – Jacek Sadowy, Chairman, Public Procurement Office of Poland
    – Mervyn Sambles, Vice-President, Corporate Development, Fluor Power Group
    – Pilar Solans, Corporate Treasurer of the City of Barcelona
    – Graeme Sweeney, Executive Vice President for CO2, Shell International Petroleum Company Ltd
    – Wiesław Szczuka, Undersecretary of State, Treasury of Poland
    – Philippe A. Tanguy, Vice-President, R&D Programs, Partnerships and International Relations of TOTAL SA
    – Sun Yuxi, Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China in Poland

The Congress’s organizer is Grupa PTWP SA. The co-organizers of the event are Silesia Voivodeship, the Metropolitan Association of Upper Silesia, and the City of Katowice.

More information about the 2011 European Economic Congress and its agenda can be found at